(Sevilla) It was early summer in 2002 when I participated in my first “Día del Evangelio”, or Gospel Day, in Spain. It’s the day that all the evangelical churches celebrate publicly our unabashed joy in being born-again Christians in a country notorious for historical religious persecution. That June, my sister Lisa and I planned a theatre presentation based on a Max Lucado book and we built a set, adapted a script and we saw rehearsals make good headway with the local church. Come the Dia del Evangelio, it was great just to have made the effort and to have been encouraged by the overcomers, the other Christians who showed up. (You can read all about in a book called: The Walls of Spain)  http://jhousepublishing.com/The-Walls-of-Spain-ad.html

Sevilla Evangélica
Predicacion del Evangelio frente La Torre del Oro
Proclamando a Cristo el 13 de junio en el centro histórico de Sevilla
Proclamando a Cristo el 13 de junio en el centro histórico de Sevilla

What strikes me is that this coming Día del Evangelio is at our familiar Torre del Oro, right in the historic downtown part of Sevilla where we inevitably take visitors and teams who come to see us.  13 years later. Has it been that long? I’ve passed through a lot of hurdles since 2002, disinterest in supporting my ministry, denied visas, dead ends, but no one can deny that I’m still here in Spain chugging along 13 years later, still trying to mobilize believers one way or the other.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
El barco de los discípulos

Día del Evangelio Sevilla, 13 de junio 2015.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Día del Evangelio Sevilla, 13 de junio 2015.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
DIA DEL EVANGELIO SEVILLA

Día del Evangelio Sevilla, 13 de junio 2015.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Día del Evangelio Sevilla, 13 de junio 2015.

Thus far God has carried me. Will it be just me wanting to attend and participate like last year? Maybe, but I still feel that’s a litmus test of how much you believe in something, when you are the only one who stands up publically to say: “I believe”. And I hope that’s something no one can deny about my time in Spain: “Supported or not, here I come!”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
DIA DEL EVANGELIO SEVILLA

 

Día del Evangelio en Sevilla, el 13 de junio. frente La Torre del Oro.
Día del Evangelio en Sevilla, el 13 de junio. frente La Torre del Oro.
Lisa Leatherwood & JD Bennett paint their set for their piece
Lisa Leatherwood & JD Bennett paint their set for their piece “Tu eres Especial” at the Día del Evangelio, 2002.
Leave a Reply

