It’s now a week since Sara and I got the shocking and almost horrifying email that her visa for Spain was denied, and my visa revoked.

It’s hard to accept that kind of rejection when it has been a continual task of mine for over 7 years.  I’ve been continually pushing papers for my Spanish residency visas since 2004. I spent several months last year in the U.S. to help my then fiance get her visa application documents in order: notarizations, Notarization authentications from the County Clerk, Aposstile’s from the Secretary of State’s office, FBI background checks and fingerprinting, proof of income documents, proof of insurance in Spain documents, Plane ticket confirmations, Invitations to work in Spain processed by the Ministry of Justice..etc.  I haven’t listed all we had to do.  It takes months, time, and money to get this all arranged.  My family has had all of these tasks on our to do list, since my sister, Lisa, and her husband, Dan, first began this process in 1998.  They had to do all these papers for their two small girls, then later for my mother and my sister’s three sons who were born in Spain.  So my wife, who got the visa denied this week, had 9 family members before her go through this process to help her at it.  That’s how crazy this is.  How is someone who has no one to help them go through the process ever going to be successful?

It’s now a week since the fateful email came in Sara’s inbox.  Today we went by my mother’s home and we saw with our own eyes the letter from the Spanish Consulate which had the letter of rejected visa signed by the appropriate bureaucrats in the Foreign Ministry offices in Madrid and Seville.  We even had the original in Spanish that we also received at our home in Seville County (our house in Spain that we can’t go to).  So seeing the letters in my hand helped me realize that my personal Walls of Spain have just gotten higher, and the name of my book just became that much more ironic.  Seeing the letter was sort of like seeing a dead friend in an open casket, at first it doesn’t completely hit you until you see them laying in a casket. That’s sort of the closure that I got seeing the letter naming my wife subject of the rejected residency visa, and listing me on another line, as her husband with a revoked residency visa.  All this was a big mistake over the job title this letter names me as having, but even if it was an unfortunate error, it’s not going to be a walk in the park reversing this error, even with the appeal, as the letter says we can appeal to the Superior Court in madrid within two months.  So in the mean time, we go on with Sara’s pregnancy, paying our private insurance in Spain, an insurance we may never get to use at this point.  For that matter, we may never get to use our house and cars over there in Spain either.

Anyone in Sevilla County Spain looking for a 2007 Chevrolet?

 

Leave a Reply

