Yohannon David of Congregation Shuvah Yisrael Saturday I drove my mother from Grand Terrace CA to Irvine, CA so that she could see her friends at Shuvah Yisrael Messianic Congregation. Afterwards I had to led the Orange County Messianic Youth in the summer Art Workshop.  I drove 4 jewish teenagers from Shuvah Yisrael in Irvine (www.shuvahyisrael.org) to Adat HaMashiach Messianic Synagogue in Mission Viejo.  There we talked to the youth about sharing their faith in Messiah and instances when Messiah carried them out of conflicts.  We did play acting of situations of talking with non-believers.  It was important for showing the teens how important it is to be solid in their faith in Messiah.  At 4pm, I drove the teens back to Shuvah in Irvine, where I picked up my mom, who had her friends Lily and Lydia waiting with her to keep her out of the July heat.  Saturday night I prepared my sermon with Chad Freeman.  He directed me through the outline that he and the other youth leader have been working through each Sunday morning.  It was a good sized youth group at Grace Community Church of Riverside.  With all my driving back and forth between Orange County and Riverside County, I’d forgotten all my “Centro Familiar Cristiano” postcards, photo albums, my “missionary science project”, and even my video, but luckily I called my buddy who made me the video trailer in Fort Worth, TX, and he made the video temporarily public on You Tube, so that we could stream my missionary video straight off the internet.  While we were at it, getting my presentation off the internet, my friend Chad suggested we tell the kids about how I was a rock star before a missionary, so he went on the internet and found mp3’s of my old band, The MentoneTones.  So while the kids were visiting before youth group started at 9am, from 8:40-9:00am he streamed MentoneTones songs off the internet and over the loud speaker in the youth room.

So I began preaching on Walking by Faith, Not by Sight (2Corinthians 5:7) and how God asked me to give up traveling with my band to go help my sister, who was beckoning me to help her on the mission field.  I talked to the teens about what it means to correctly walk by faith and how to know when God is telling you to do something, which is, it will be clearly backed by scripture and God’s character in Scripture.  I talked to them of the terror of facing God on the Judgment Throne, (2 Cor. 5:10-11) and how we need to have compassion on our enemies who don’t know God like we know Him, who don’t know that they face judgment, so I told them how I try to persuade men on the other side of the planet to believe that the Messiah died for their sins, as the High priest of Israel, he was the appointed one and anointed one to make the sacrifice for everybody’s sin, not only for the Jewish people, but for all nations,(2 Cor. 5:15) and he didn’t do it with rams and sheep, but he made himself the sacrifice, being the Lamb of God who takes away the sins of the world.  I told the teens that we have to know the “why” in believing in Jesus.  Why Him?   I told them that we need to know why we believe Jesus is the only way to heaven if we are going to do his work of reconciling the pagan world to Almighty God.  So I asked some of them to consider being Ambassadors of Jesus (2 Corinthians 5:20) like I am.  I told them that people all over the world, like the Basques and Spaniards who sell out my English Camps, wants to learn English.  So I told them that they have English and the Gospel, those are two very valuable commodities for going overseas.  One is temporal and the other eternal.  I encouraged them to go on a short term mission and to see what missionaries lives are like, and to see how much work there is to de to reconcile the whole world to God.

Leave a Reply

