So now that I’ve re-submitted Chapters 31 & 32 of “Walls of Spain” to my editor, which may be the last big creative task for me to get Walls of Spain in print.   My desk still has lots of projects looming over me. For one, I’ve got to finish adapting “Prince Caspian” into a doable script for Basque & Spanish children. Last summer’s “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” was way too long, I hardly had a weekend before Theatre Camp to edit and to prepare for what I was going to do. This year I won’t be there to oversee that the actors are running lines, so I need to stream-line the lines since my sister is going to be having to run everything. As I adapt this script, I also have to finish proof-reading the translation for Messianic Cristology. I’ve invested good long days already at the coffee house, trying to mill through the text. So even though my own book seems to be more or less done, I now have these projects hanging over me, and I’ve realized that this is turning into a literary career. I’m getting paid as a writer and translator, which is encouraging, that isn’t at all the direction that I saw myself going into while I was in college. I adapted some plays, but that was more directing than writing. Let’s see what lies beyond the bend when I get back to Spain.

2 thoughts on “My Literary Career

  1. Mr. Bennett,

    I can relate to some of what you are going through. When I was in my first year of college studying to be a career missionary, I never imagined the kind of life that I have now. Also, I never imagined the ministries that I am involved in now. At times, I have been stretched, pruned, and weighed down; however, it is the Lord who is refining me. The Lord is doing the same in your life. In my humble opinion, I think you need help with writing and proof-reading. Perhaps God will direct someone your way to help you with your many responsibiltities (Ecclesiastes 4:9-12). God’s divine providence is at work in your life and as well in mine. I thank God for what He has done, is doing, and will do. Those bends in life can be quite challenging, but at times I find them to be full of adventure. I hope that you find my sharing to be encouraging and not excouraging. God bless you, Mr. Bennett!

  2. Wow, what a time you’ve had back in the US, and now back on Spain.
    Your writing and sharing brings wonderful memories of those three months back in 02 in your cozy house in Grand Terrace! We’ll be praying that the Lord will give you many open doors to walk through!

    Love, in Christ, Dick & Lorraine

Leave a Reply

