Last Blog I wrote about Isaiah 29 and Matthew 15, which talk of people honoring God just with lip service, while their hearts really don’t care about God. This has been a theme I’ve been talking about a lot lately when God comes up. It’s so important that people who claim to love God, love Him with all their heart, mind, and strength, as He commanded us in Deuteronomy 6:5.

I don’t think it was a coincidence that I felt I needed to spend more time in God’s word after this very successful and convicting weekend of watching God prove himself through ministry, both in Mexico and at Fuente de Vida at Trinity Church in Redlands. Well the surpirse came when I sat down on the beach at the Newport-Huntington River Jetty, plopped down my towel & chair, open my Bible, and right there, the First verse I read is Isaiah 29:13, but it wasn’t Isaiah or Matthew, it was in Mark 7. So God continued revealing to me His teaching on Sincere worship, worship through Spirit and worship in Truth. He has been showing me how it all relates through the different lenses of the Bible authors: Matthew, Isaiah, and I had forgotten about Mark, just one more piece of proof to me of the continuity of scripture.

Mark 7:5-9 “Then the Pharisees and the Scribes asked Him, “Why do your disciples not walk according to the tradition of the elders, but eat bread with unwashed hands? He answered and said to them, “Well did Isaiah prophecy of you hypocrites, as it is written:

This people honors me with their lips, But their hearts are far from Me. And in vain they worship me, Teaching as Doctrines the commandments of men.”
“For laying aside the commandment of God, you hold the tradition of men.” Mark 7:5-8

If I have ever seen anyone guilty of this it is the Catholics in Spain. Let us pray that Spain will love God with their hearts and not just put religious tradition in front of Almighty God.

Leave a Reply

